Cart 0
Treasures Of Chinese Instrumental Music: Guzheng (Various Artists)

Treasures Of Chinese Instrumental Music: Guzheng (Various Artists)



Release Date : September 4, 2012
Catalog : 73192-2
Format : Digital Download (AAC, Mp3)

Guzheng is also called Zheng.  It is one kind of the oldest Chinese traditional musical instrument.  Upon the Warring States period (403 - 211 B.C.), it was most popular in Qin territory (now Shaanxi province).  So it was also called "Qin Zheng".

According to the historical records from the poetry and other writings, they told us that the instrument was beloved by the public and most people could manage it.  It also reflected the importance of it in the civil through music history.

Although Zheng was originated from Qin territory, it was gradually spread to Henan, Shandong, Guangdong, Yunnan, Zhejiang provinces and became their civil instruments.  Today, Zheng has been greater developed and is one kind of the traditional musical instruments among the people in China.

The sound box of the instrument is made by a long wooden board from tong tree.  On the upper arch-shade side is load with strings across the separate bridges.  In the past, the strings were made with silk, or bronze.  Nowadays, they are made with steel and nylon.  And the number of strings has developed from twelve to twenty five.  On the lower flat side, there are two sound holes.  The smaller one near the head of the instrument is used for affixing the strings.  While the bigger one in the middle is used for the sound to transmit downward.

| T R A C K S |
01.  Four Brocade
02.  Lotus Flower Emerging From Water
03.  Rain Falling On The Plantain By The Window At Night
04.  Shooting Down Wild Geese
05.  Dance Of The Yao People
06.  Spring Morning In Snow Mountain
07.  Shooting The Drum On Xiang Shan
08.  Flowing Water And Floating Cloud
09.  Battling Against The Typhoon
10.  Lin Chong Fled To Liang Shan
11.  Fantasia
12.  Roar Of Iron Horses 

01.  A Traditional Tune In Common
02.  Autumn Moon Over The Han Palace
03.  Ospreys Sporting With Water
04.  Spring In The Fields
05.  Liu-Qing-Niang
06.  A Tune Of Qin Mulberry
07.  Going Up To The Boudoir
08.  Song Of Han Jiang
09.  High Mountains And Flowing Water
10.  The New Song Of Dongting
11.  Lives Of The Craft Crew
12.  The Miraculous Saving Of Chen Xing-Yuan
13.  Evening Song In The Fishing Boat
14.  Tears Of Xiangfei
15.  Capriccio On A Xinjiang Theme
16.  Busy Spinning

| C R E D I T S |
Executive Producer : Eiichi Naito
Artists + Repertoire, Remastering : Dino Malito

Share this Product

More from this collection